Novice Solving Issues with backgroud hiss

pouletrecords

HI everyone, im just starting out recording, my setup comprises of a macbook with garageband, a subzero dynamic mic and an XLR to USB cable plugged into my computer. Ive started trying to record some stuff today and there is a horrible background hiss that ruins the sound (ill attach a sample). any advice on how to solve this would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Attachments

• Untitled - 25:03:2021, 20.mp3
    841.6 KB
I only hear hiss at the very end . . . what I do hear in spades is a horribly distorted guitar. So, you're running two mics, recording an acoustic and singing at the same time? The guitar into the dynamic, and voice into the USB mic? You have no interface, is that correct?

I'll cut to the chase here: Get an interface, something designed to send in signals from mics and line signals, as well as give you the ability to monitor what you're doing. Something like the Focusrite 2i2, for instance. There are resources here that can show/explain how to properly mic up an acoustic guitar. That USB mic is really suited for podcasting, and the subzero dynamic appears to be a knock-off of an Shure SM-57, a fine mic, but not necessarily the best choice for an acoustic instrument. There is a huge range of affordable condenser mics to be had out there, so look into that.
As far as the hiss goes, it could be a lot of things, most likely the noise of the mics themselves, or perhaps your recording environment, or maybe the gain settings for the mics in Garageband. Most major DAWs have noise removing tools, but I'd be surprised if Garageband does. I have to deal with noisy environments whilst recording sometimes, and so resort to a de-noiser which comes with Samplitude, my DAW of choice, and it's saved my bacon many times. However, as mentioned, in your case it is likely the mics themselves and the gain settings set for them.