Newbie here... Oh I have a really stupid question...

havitcold

Hi all, I am the latest newbie to join up. Its a pleasure to meet such knowledgeable people. I am a musician and song writer I have been playing guitar and bass guitar for about 40 years. I spent half my career playing professionally in several bands put my dues in at the clubs and concert venues spent many hours in different recording studios- all original music. I was brought up on analog tape and spent a great deal of time in the wood shed to earn my place and I would love to make new friends please say hi. I am just an old rock n roller.

Here is my dilemma I just purchased an old Tascam 38 R/R the 2- DX-4D N/R units and the Tascam M-30 mixing console. Everything works except my brain. I am really regretting purchasing the M-30. I have 6 reels from the late 80's and early 90's I have been towing around for 37 years.. I have some great original music on those reels and I wanted to bring them back to life and them load them up on Pro Tools 12.8.

SO why cant I get the M-30 mixing console to work properly. I remember I owned a Tascam M-208 back in the day and did not have all this weird patching... I am stuck. I need someone to take an interest and help me through this or just buy a more modern board. I got a tell ya I am hating this M-30. Anyone want to talk about it with me?

thanks

Interface. I'd be thinking eight tape outs direct to eight line in A/D converters to tracks in the DAW.

Thanks for your response I noticed that the tape heads were building up residue on the heads and required cleaning after each play. Insthat what "baking" eliminates?

Thanks for your response I noticed that the tape heads were building up residue on the heads and required cleaning after each play. Is that what "baking" eliminates?