Need Help Identifying a Mystery Audio Problem

NotAnEngineer44

Hello! I posted last month and you were all excellent help. I am a voice host producer but not an expert with audio (experience stems from general producing). Hosts connect via a USB mic and livestream with their voice to narrate a card game. I have a remote working host that I cannot identify her audio problem. The ends of her words keep getting clipped by static.

We have tried replacing the mic. We have tried unplugging any superfluous devices that may be causing interference. Is this an internet issue perhaps? Too weak of a computer?

Audio example attached.

Thank you all!

Hello! I posted last month and you were all excellent help. I am a voice host producer but not an expert with audio (experience stems from general producing). Hosts connect via a USB mic and livestream with their voice to narrate a card game. I have a remote working host that I cannot identify her audio problem. The ends of her words keep getting clipped by static.

We have tried replacing the mic. We have tried unplugging any superfluous devices that may be causing interference. Is this an internet issue perhaps? Too weak of a computer?

Audio example attached.

Thank you all!

What exact equipment are you using. It sounfs like clipping to me. Maybe try backing down the gain on the mics input.

Looking at the sample you posted, I don't think it's clipping because it occurs in places where there is not a lot of level. I'm more inclined to look at buffer overruns. If the computer is off doing other tasks, and the audio buffer gets full, it will drop data. That is a fundamental weakness of the USB system vs Thunderbolt. If you've ever had your mouse stutter when you were moving it, that's what is occurring.

I would look at the settings for the audio device and see if there is a buffer setting. I've heard this kind of thing before when I experimented with how low I could set my buffers before I got data loss.

Driopouts.jpg