Naopak v0.61 - recording and mixing advices needed

ZeroTwo

The song is on soundcloud com /karma-jonten-puntschog/naopak-v061

Hello guys,

I am guite new to recording and mixing. This is my attempt to record an fully acoustic song - guitar, mandolin, upright bass and vocal.
My issue is that in my recordings there is strange midrange, I can hear mainly in cheaper speakers like in car, but pro level recordings sound great even there.
So some advice is needed

My gear used in this recording:

Mics
AKG C141B ULS
Neumann km 84

Path
Art Pro Mpa II - Steinberg UR44 - Reaper

I used mostly fabfilter eq and compression, NLS summer for analog modeling, oldschool verb for reverb

Thanks ;)

keith.rogers

Bobby'); DROP TABLE USER
The song is on soundcloud com

Naopak v0.61 by Karma Jonten Puntschog | Free Listening on SoundCloud
Hello guys,

I am quite new to recording and mixing. This is my attempt to record an fully acoustic song - guitar, mandolin, upright bass and vocal.
My issue is that in my recordings there is strange midrange, I can hear mainly in cheaper speakers like in car, but pro level recordings sound great even there.
So some advice is needed

My gear used in this recording:

Mics
AKG C141B ULS
Neumann km 84

Path
Art Pro Mpa II - Steinberg UR44 - Reaper

I used mostly fabfilter eq and compression, NLS summer for analog modeling, oldschool verb for reverb

Thanks ;)
The acoustic guitar sounds a bit distant and light on low end, while the mandolin is quite punchy and close sounding. How was the guitar recorded? (Did you mean AKG C414?)

I'd consider re-tracking the guitar to get a better sound (closer mic'd, off the neck joint, angled in - typical start point), and maybe think about the arrangement. It's a little sparse in that first verse, but then the guitar track sound is probably coloring my opinion.