My first try to write and record a song. I know it ain't good.

elliottlover

This is my first try with a blue yeti and audacity and a cheap acoustic guitar. One of my first tries at writing lyrics too. Just wondering whether I should give up on trying to make my own music for good. Should I just do other hobbies like videogames, learning instruments and studying?

It's sort of coming out like a poor man's Kimya Dawson. My voice gets funny at points because I'm struggling to sing. I'm not overcome with emotion.

Please don't post mean comments. I know it's pretty shit. I'm posting because I want to know whether I should just give up on writing entirely.

Last edited:
Yeah, it's a little rough. I'm not sure a thorough dissection of it's faults is really called for right now, and I'll bet you have a pretty good idea what I'd say.. sounds like you're already trying to hear it objectively.

Regarding giving up, are you a big music fan? Do you enjoy making it? How long have you been working at it? How hard are you willing to work to become better?
Hearing the first thing you ever committed to disc is not going to give anyone insight into whether or not you should continue.. it mostly comes down to your answers for the above questions, particularly the second and last. Hope that helps.

Thanks man

I worked at it for on and off for a day or two.

I'm not that committed really to music although Elliott Smith has a special place for me. Guitar's really all I play right now and I just play it on and off. I'm trying to learn piano. There are other things I'd like to do in life too and I've got mixed feelings about whether I'd like to be even vaguely successful at music, though I know it's extremely unlikely.

Got a rough idea what you'd say but I'm not sure we should get into that. Thanks for not demolishing me.