My 1st recording...tear it apart

TaylorDuke

Hello all,

JesusChrist by User 954630688 | Free Listening on SoundCloud

Here is my first recording. I am using a Zoom MRS 1608 portastudio. Guitars were Squier Tele and Strat played through a Fender Champion 100. All recorded (including vocals) with a Behringer XM8500. Keep in mind I am not singer!...just wanted to make a complete song so I sang as well. I am also a fairly novice/maybe intermediate guitar player. I used the drum pads on the Zoom to create the drums. A lot of work to do, but pretty proud of my first ever recording. Advice and feedback greatly appreciated!

Song: Jesus Christ by Brand New

Next project: About a Girl by Nirvana

Thanks!

Taylor

Yeah man, if I were you I'd go digital and use a DAW/interface. Your signals are all clustered with room sound and there is extremely noticeable noise from other tracks you didn't cut out. If you're using amps, then you could mic them properly and record into the DAW. But the main issue here is the excess room noise and unclear signals.

Overall music-wise this is good work but the recording is just not happening here. Way too much noise and mud to start deconstructing and giving feedback. So step one is to look at your recording setup and technique.

Can you describe how this is being recorded? I have the XM8500, it is a decent mic (not great compared to studio condensers but not noisy or muddy either). You should be able to get clean audio out of that little guy if the rest of the setup is set right.