MXL990 opinions

raym256

OK I'm your classic nooby. I just started playing music again after 30 years ago in HS and college. I have a Sennheiser e835 mic I purchased for local gigs but have decided to step into some small time home recording. I'm told by the folks at local music store I need a large diaphram mic specifically for recording and since I haven't a clue about this stuff (I'll learn in time however) I'm seeking additional advice. Currently I'm looking at the MXL990 for $100 give or take. I will strictly be doing vocals and acoustic guitar with this. Or is there a better mic for my purposes in the $100-150 range. Also can the Sennheiser be used for recording at all? Any opinions, thoughts and advice would be greatly appreciated.

OK I'm your classic nooby. I just started playing music again after 30 years ago in HS and college. I have a Sennheiser e835 mic I purchased for local gigs but have decided to step into some small time home recording. I'm told by the folks at local music store I need a large diaphram mic specifically for recording and since I haven't a clue about this stuff (I'll learn in time however) I'm seeking additional advice. Currently I'm looking at the MXL990 for $100 give or take. I will strictly be doing vocals and acoustic guitar with this. Or is there a better mic for my purposes in the $100-150 range. Also can the Sennheiser be used for recording at all? Any opinions, thoughts and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hi there,
Technically the MXL isn't a large diaphragm mic. I'm not sure that small medium and large are officially defined anywhere, but the capsule is smaller than most.

That doesn't really matter though. It's a decent enough beginner microphone.
Like most entry condensers, it's quite bright so be prepared for that.

You could certainly try the Sennheiser in a recording environment.