Mixing with programs on laptop? Quality is terrible

Lizadiane88

My question is very simple. I'm not hooking up any amps, instruments, etc. The software I use is wavepad sound editor and audacity. Yea they are terrible but I can't afford much right now. I have a decent microphone (editors keys studio series SL150) I mix my vocal track after recording and the music track separately and use headphones when recording. For some reason, when I mix the two tracks together, the quality is terrible and my voice sounds disconnected from the music. I tried using the reverb effect but I can't use too much of it or it'll alter the quality of the track itself. I am not totally broke but anything more than fifty bucks I can't do. The only reason I use these programs to mix my vocal track with a music track is because they are extremely easy to use and I figured them out within an hour, maybe less. I'm not an audio engineer, but I'm learning the basics of it (kind of) I'm just a musician who already has the music but now I'm just having issues mixing the two together. Either it sounds disconnected altogether or the quality suffers or both. I don't know the terms used in these programs, the dry, the wet gain, etc. I just mess around till I find something i like. Are there any other easy to learn programs that won't alter the effect and will mix a little more easily? Thank you

How loud is the music track?, That is, if you have the music track's fader at 0, does it come very near 0dB on the output meter? If so turn it down about 18dB before doing anything else. Then when you record your vocal set the record level so it averages about -18dBFS.