Microphones for Car Audio Recording

dkabab

Hi guys, I'm new here and don't worry, I've done plenty of searching for what I'm looking for and haven't really found what I'm looking for.

Im lucky enough to work with some very nice cars, ferrari's, lamborghini's etc… now normally I'm a photographer but I'm enjoying doing some video work as well. One thing i don't know much about is audio. So I'm hoping some knowledgable people on here can help me out.

In my research I've discovered 1 mic positioned near the exhaust isn't going to capture the large range of sound many cars make.
unfortunately i have no idea how to read microphones… i don't know what suits what.

I have played around with a friends 458 italia and below is the link to the video. this was purely testing hence the video is average…

anyway it was a test to see what i could get. I used an SM57 and a Zoom H4N. I had the mic attached to a suction cup on the bumper and ran the cable into the cabin where i monitored the audio. What i found was…. It was freakin loud!!! the mic was probably 40cm from the exhaust tips. I had to drop the h4n's input down to 6/100. I'm not sure i was doing the right thing there or not.

anyway, I've come up with an idea of mounting 2 shotgun mics out riggered to the back of the car. as per the picture below.
any thoughts on this idea? possible negative results? good idea maybe?

i-Qhn5xZ7-M.jpg

i don't know what mics to use in this situation. I don't have an endless budget but I'm happy to spend some money on good equipment.

My plan was to also have a mic mounted inside the engine bay, however this means potentially being exposed to extreme heat.

Im open to any suggestions.

it won't let me post the link to youtube for the video - but if anyone wants to see it, pm me and i'll send it that way