Just bought an xlr mic please help! :)

arcticx7

Hello,
I just bought a cheap xlr microphone, for music and for skype calls, discord, gaming, etc. It's obviously not getting enough power but I seem to be getting two answers when I look for the same question. Phantom power supply, and an audio interface. I don't understand the difference since I'm a complete newbie. What's the difference between the two? Can I record with the phantom power supply? Can I make high quality discord or skype calls with an audio interface since the audio interface should be also providing the power right? ugh.. Btw I also have a guitar, and midi controller that I use in fl, and I want to buy monitor speakers. I connect the akai mpk via provided usb. If I should buy an audio interface which one? (I saw that the focusrite scarlett was highly recommended), and how to set up the mic, monitors, and guitar?
Thanks for any help in advance since this is all kind of confusing to me! :)

Let's start with the mic. What make and model is it?

If it is a condenser mic, it will need power for the electronics that are in the mic. Dynamic mics for the most part do not need phantom power. This power is called 'phantom power' and is usually provided by an interface or a mixing board if recording. There are separate phantom power supplies that can provide power like you mentioned, but that is all they do is provide the mic with power if an interface or mixer may not have it which is rare. A phantom power supply in itself does not provide a means to 'properly' record, if you should be thinking of plugging into the 'MIC' input on a computer or laptop. A USB interface is the best way to start as it should provide the phantom power the mic needs as well as a means to get audio in and out of a computer. Most have instrument inputs that a guitar can be plugged into.