hummm - if i hear this noise again i will scream

one

Hi

As you can tell i am having a few feedback problems when i "link" my system up.

Firstly i am a novice, and my setup is..

PC 500mhz (intel)
Yamaha SW1000G
Beringer MX1604a (12 chans)

I have from my LR output on my SW1000G going to a STEREO LINE IN on my mixing desk. (2 x Minijack --> 2 x 1/4 Jacks)

On my mixing desk from ALT OUTPUT to the INPUT on my SW1000G (2 x 1/4 Jacks going to 1 x Stereo Minijack)

Whenever i connect all the above i get a really annoying loud "hmmmmmmm" noise which obviously stops me recording!

If i remove either end of connections (ie on the mixing desk in or the mixing desk out) the noise goes away.

So i can record to my PC if the output is disconnected, i just can't if both are connected! (the noise is far to "noisey")

Oh - from my MAIN OUTPUT on my mixing desk i have that to my monitors.

How can i get rid of that "humm"? any ideas would be great :)

If i have missed off any important information please don't hesitate to ask me for it!

Thanks in advance!!

Oliver Cookson

Possibly, you either have a bad cable, or a ground loop. Make sure both the console and the computer are plugged into the same outlet. Eliminate the bad cable possibility by trying a different cable.

Ed

I had a simular problem and discovered that if I plugged a couple of power strips in to my APC-UPS Then plugged all of my gear in to the power stips I got rid of the noise.

I hope this helps.

GRIZ

Thanks for the replies!

ohh!

They have to be plugged into the same "strip of plugs?"

My beringer mixing desk was a german import so it therefore uses a "2 pin plug" (no earth) - would this be causing a problem?

The guy @ the shop i bought said it wouldn't but to be honest i trust him as far as i can throw him :)

thanks!