How to use a recording studio?

farmskis

I have some basic recording equipment and I want to get started doing a little recording. Except I feel that I do not have the skills to do what I want to do yet so I want to potentially use a commercial studio. I have no idea how to even get started with this since I have never used one before. I do not know what to look for or what to ask or even how to figure out where to go. I was hoping someone on here could guide me. I will tell you a little about the project and any help would be appreciated.

I live in Maine and my wife is a worship leader at a church. We are moving and we want to send some examples of her voice to churches in our new area as like a demo. She does not really have access to a band so probably would use backing tracks or possibly a pianist. Is this something a studio would do? How do I set up the time and what is a cost I would potentially be looking at? Any advice is welcome as I am a total newbie in the recording world.

Hi

Most of the bigger commercial studios tend to work with sessions musicians, and they can certainly create the backing tracks, and then your wife would just go in and sing her part...BUT....that can get expensive.

There are also plenty of online production services that can generate backing tracks less expensively...BUT...you would have to record your wife's singing, and send that to them to mix with the backing tracks.

I suggest you look around locally for some semi-commercial, project studio where you can 1.) get the backing tracks inexpensively, and 2.) bring in your wife to record her singing. There are a lot of home studio folks who have that capability and can do a great job...so you don't need to go to some big commercial studio just for a basic demo for worship/church purposes. I mean, it's not like you are compiling an album CD for commercial release.

You will simply have to do some hunting in your area to see what is available.