Here's a new one

Though so, wasn't sure about the kick - sounded like a sample. You have a nice sounding kit, great tom sounds. Great job!

Nice drum sound for sure, they are real though right? Not programmed anyway I don't think - is this partially triggered samples from a real kit and partially real - cymbals, ride etc snare. Great sound whatever the process.

heh ... they're real drums. Maybe I sound like a machine when I play because I haven't really developed the *feel* of a drummer, yet :)
So, no triggers at all ... was there something specific that made you think it was midi? The snare bugs me a little ... it seems ... i dunno ... boxy? ...
The only electronics were the piano and bass (both off of a QS8).
Thanks for the listen you guys! :)

Thanks for the compliment man. I'm new to playing and caring for drums, and have really started working on recording drums a lot more since I heard the porterhouse CD that Ed mixed and mastered. For years, I never really gave the drums much thought and just "threw some mics on them" and used a lot of EQ. But hearing that CD made me realize how unnatural my sound really was. I think it's gotten better, but that's what great about this BBS. Thanks for the candid comments about it being a drum machine! :) I think the kick may be gated too quick, which is probably why is sounds synthetic. I'm glad you think the toms are good ... I spent most of last night tuning them ... I find that kind of stuff still to be pretty difficult. I'm also going to try to tune up the snare better tonight ... so if anyone has any tips, I'd appreciate them.
Thanks

Drums sounded good to me, also neat song. Are you the one man band, like the most of us.

Nice playing all around!!!

To be able to listen properly, I need to download this to my MP3-player, so I can listen to it on my stereo. And I can't because it complains that the file is copy protected...

ahhh, so that tag has a function after all ... Now I know. :)