Help me choose a DAW

thebigcheese

"Hi, I'm in Delaware."
I studied recording as a minor in college (nearly 10 years ago now...) meaning, as you might imagine, that I learned on Pro Tools. But outside of school, I found it pretty irritating that I needed their expensive hardware to run the software, so I switched over to Reaper. I was pretty happy with that for many years until it came time to mix my band's album and I was struggling mightily to salvage the fairly crappy recordings we wound up with from a studio. On a whim, I thought I would try Studio One and it was much, much easier to get good sounds. But now I tried actually tracking an album and found it to be... unintuitive at best. So now I am trying to figure out if there is a DAW that actually has all the features I like.

Reaper Pros:
-I love folder tracks. They keep my edit area tidy and they are an easy way to control an entire group with one fader. On top of that, I can stick FX on them, so it's really easy to have, say, a master compressor and reverb for my drums. Having looked around at how some of the other DAWs do it now (Cubase, namely), I can see advantages to other methods, but boy are folders fast and handy.
-Takes are super easy to comp together. I think Cubase works much the same way. Just keep recording over and over until I get something I like, then split it up and pick the best ones.
-Super resource efficient, tiny program.
-Great user base, making it really easy to figure out how to do things (most of which are really simple).

Cons:
-The plugins it comes with really aren't that great, in particular the EQ and compressor. I have to load up a third-party plug for even these basic tasks.
-When doing takes, if I don't record them all exactly the same length, I end up with a bunch of splits that I have to go in and either delete or glue back together.

Studio One Pros:
-Really good plug-ins bundled. Really easy to dial in a mix.
-Relatively quick to load.

Cons: