Hello and Newb Question

Relativity1

Hi all.

20 years ago I was a professional studio assasin in Chicago for a well known DJ. I played professionally, had access to studios then life took me in a far more rewarding direction. Long story short, I recently took up bass guitar , immediatley Im surpassing anything Ive ever done on a technical skill level and have got myself in with people who do really awesome bass and drum videos on Youtube.

So like a guy on a desert island, 20 years being out of the recording area...alot has changed.

I was analog and digital anything had the green LCD display and rotary click knob.

SO I read up and studied. Being Im not made of cash, I wanted to be smart.

So I tried some free studio softwares..REAPER ....Audacity realizing I just want to see what its about and understand it which surprisingly , Im actually pretty good getting really down and dirty with alot of the deep toys included in those.

But then I found "Latency". I hate "Latency". Despise it. Felt it sucked all the fun out of recording. Dont even want to waste my time with it. Im not upgrading sound cards...adjusting anything. Screw that, Multitracks eliminate it. No ASIO4ALL !!!So I got myself A Fostex multitrack to record. No latency. More fun.

I love the thing. No issues with quality and the stuff sounds mindblowing.

No here is the issue......

I do use Audacity or Reaper to post mix.

Once I master to two channel OR send all my tracks individually to either, I bring it in, get an idea what its going to sound like on Youtube, then maybe add compression or whatever.

Its then it gets synced with a video and uploaded. I do realize Youtube adds compression , but when it gets there, its nowhere near what I just heard on my PC and sounds more flat and less dynamics. Yet I do hear wonderful sounding videos on Youtube.

Do you guys have any and i mean any input about recording and getting to Youtube in general?