Getting ready to buy my first set of equipment

brianXXX

hi,

i'm getting ready to build my first home studio.

this is what I'm thinking of getting -

a shure 57 mic
delta 44
mackie 1202-VLZ Pro Mixer
and a pair of active tannoy reveal monitors.

i'm going to be recording myself playing solo guitar, from my amp.

1) i want to layer a few of my guitar tracks, how do you do this?. can i play what i've reordered so far out through my monitors and play along. oh!, the mic will pick that up, will I need headphones so. hmm, how should i do this? the headphones wouldn't need to be any good, they'd be just a guide, right?

2) can anyone see what might be missing from the list above? make no presumptions, because i'm totally new to recording.

3) also, have i got the balance right? i mean, am i concentrating too much money on one particular item when the money might be better spent on getting a better soundcard or something?

4) i'd like to have a room mic also but i'm confused on this issue and dont want to spend money when it might not help my sound. should i just go with the 57, will it be fine for recording the clean channel of a 15w combo. my music is described as ambient, so thats why i'm worried about room mics as well, what about stereo?

5) any reason for me to get a mackie 1604? - i'll only every be playing on my own, so i'll have no need for more that 4 pre-amps >> should never need more that 2 actually.

6) what about my room? its about 2500 cubic feet (14*18*10). the walls are concrete, but there?s none of the echo you'd get in a basement. there?s also a lot of wooden presses in there, and a large mahogany dining table. the floor has a thick carpet.

anyway can't wait to start recording, i only hope that all this money im planning to spend will give me recordings i will be happy with.

You've got a pretty good start there. Headphones are a must and good ones are nice to have but not as important as good monitors.