Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 / mix question

scorona62

I'm fairly new to recording/mixing and have a newb question. I have a Focusrite 2i2 and a Macbook with Garageband.
Looking for possible ways to have a separate headphone mix for all tracks from my DAW (Garageband) and output just a single live guitar track to studio monitor speakers. Do I need a more advanced audio interface with more line outputs (eg Scarlett 4i4)? I have access to a mixer and have read that it could be connected to an audio interface. I'm curious if it's possible that would accomplish what I am trying to achieve?

Thanks in advance for the help!

The 2i2 has a headphone output and line outputs. With luck they will be on separate circuits. If so, you theoretically can send different mixes to each. However, this then depends on whether Garage Band recognises them as separate outputs, and whether from within GB you can specify which tracks go to which outputs.

Thanks for the replies.

Yes, in GarageBand it comes up as a single stereo output. Possible there other DAWs out there that might recognize the headphone out and the line outs as separate?

Or, if I added an inexpensive mixer, is there someway to rig it up to achieve this?

Am I better off just upgrading to a new audio interface (e.g 4i4) with more output options?

Thanks.

You should be able to accomplish what you want using the mixer with the 2i2. Connect your speakers to the mixer, your headphones to the 2i2. You'll probably have to figure out how to route signals, etc.

My question would be Why? There might be other solutions to accomplish what you want.

The headphone and monitor sends on the 2i2 are not separate, they come from the same bus. THe 2i2 is a pretty decent little interface. GarageBand is more of a toy than a true DAW app. If you were to upgrade anything, it should be your software.