Did I just mess up my equipment

Razzle1980

So I'm a newbie to this recording thing. I'm running a Neve 5017 preamp into a Yamaha AG03 mixer. I'm using Cubase as my DAW. While I'm trying to educate myself as I go, I realized that I made two mistakes, and I'm wondering if I may have messed anything up.

1) For the past 3 weeks, I had the output of my Neve preamp (balanced) going to the guitar input of my Yamaha interface/mixer (unbalanced) using a balanced cable. I learned today that it should actually be plugged into the line input on my I interface/mixer. Any potential harm in having done this for the past 3 weeks?

2) I was "experimenting" with my interface/mixer and I plugged the balanced output of my Neve preamp into the XLR input of the Yamaha interface/mixer using a balanced cable. While it was plugged in there, I pressed the phantom button on the interface/mixer for less than 5 seconds and then turned it off, not knowing what it was for. Did I fry anything?

Thanks,

Last edited:
You should be fine. The phantom shouldn't have messed up the preamp and there is no harm plugging into the guitar input.

What are you using as an interface? You should plug the neve directly into the line input of the interface. (Assuming the mixer isn't the interface)

Hey Farview, thanks for the reply. My Yamaha AG03 is the interface/mixer. Both my interface (Yamaha) and pre-amp (Neve) have the phantom buttons. For clarification purposes, I pressed the phantom button on my interface with a balanced cable plugged in from output of pre-amp to XLR input on interface.

You should still be fine. The neve output is line level, so should be plugged into a line level input, not the mic input. This is mainly for gain staging purposes.

The neve preamp takes the mic signal and boosts it to line level. So you want to plug that in to an input that expects a line level signal.