Cubase and Drums

Sixpack324

I am toying with the idea of purchasing EZDrummer and using it with Cubase LE6 to create my drum tracks. I have tried to use HALion with no success whatsoever. No matter what I do, I can't open the drum editor. My experience with HALion is what is causing me to hesitate jumping into EZDrummer.

The method I use now, is to program my drums in Acoustica Beatcraft then, play the audio out of my laptop into Cubase. I REALLY like the ability to program the individual beats. (Actually......I would stick with Beatcraft if it's Hi-Hats didn't suck)

I can't seem to find a way to program individual beats in HALion and this has me wondering......Can I use Cubase to program beats in EZDrummer?

FWIW, I have ZERO experience using any program within a DAW to create drum tracks.

If you cant open your drum editor, then I doubt you will be able to "edit" EZdrummer. You will be stuck using their loops as is. You probably need to upgrade to a higher Cubase to use the Drum editor. I use EZdrummer in Cubase 7 with great results. People often cant tell if they are live or not, but I use the Drum editor which really helps me make original tracks. Good luck!

Midi--->open drum editor on your menu bar in cubase.

Yes cubase is really ez drummer friendly.

Toontrack has midi maps for cubase on their website. Just sign into your account and then hit the download button next to the my products button. Then go to the xtra downloads area click ez drummer file, then host stuff file, then cubase, then drum maps.

Download that and put it in a place that is easy to find. If you get that far, start a new thread and ask how to load them.