Crop Circles. Drums by ibleedburgundy.

Robus

A collaboration with ibleedburgundy who recorded the drums. No samples on this one!

I posted an early version of this song on the Songwriting & Composition forum last June. It was the first music I posted on the forum. I got great criticism from gecko, Armistice, famousbeagle, and others. Thanks!

I'm not experienced mixing real drums, so any suggestions to get ibleedburgundy's drums sounding the way they deserve would be much appreciated.

Crop Circles

Into the heart of stone
There’s a stone left to turn
There are no laws tonight but the law of life
Passion sparks and burns
And all very simple things

These fields are dark and wide
Draw us to the other side
Then we touch and fall entwined
We are young
We are young
And we touch and fall entwined

Across the sky
Speed of light
A spark lights up the land
And falls upon the planet face
And everywhere a trace
In every field
On every face
A design
And the seed you carry now
Yours and mine
The seed you carry now
Yours and mine

And the skill of my hands
The work of my mind
The skipping heart, a smile
These things belong to you
While I am
And maybe we are
And maybe we shall be

Into these fields
Trampled down by frost
We watch the skies with every lover’s eye
This child we made
A thought engraved
Into the great design
And for all the world a sign
We were here
We were here
And for all the world a sign
We were here.

(Words and Music by Ray Taylor 2016)

Last edited:
Hey,
the drums do sound nice, the guitars too. I thought the drums are somewhat too upfront at the beginning in relation to the guitars. Later on the balance is good imo. It does sound like the drums are in a different space/room/ambience though; but it's subtil and maybe it's just me. The vocals do sound like you don't have much confidence in your voice? Technically/pitchwise, the singing is good though imo.
Nice song and playing btw. But there are not enough harsh mids!

Thanks--and sorry about that! ;)