Considering Analog, need some advice

craz

Hi all,

I've a typical home-digital studio setup. And while I consider Digital to be great for capturing exactly what’s coming out of my amp, I play a lot of Desert and Surf Rock and I'd like to start building an analog studio with Reel to Reels etc, for these types of music.

Anyway, I've put together a page of instrumentals from what I consider to be the most beautiful production I've ever heard. Perhaps some of you guys would be in a position to hazard a guess as to the type of equipment that might have been used to record this. Personally, I believe that an old reel to reel was used, what do you think?

I really hope you can help me out here as I'm totally new to this side of recording and need a bit of direction so I can start figuring out what I can afford.

Heres that link to recordings of music whos sound I'm after - http://aine_canby.tripod.com/usa.html

Thanks,

Craz

I appologize for not listening to your link. No time this morning. I have about 30 people coming over for a kids party soon.

Anyone wanting to start out in large-format analog should start with an eight or 16 track 1/2" machine. This is mainly a matter of economics. Parts and service are cheaper, they are not a bulky and heavy as a 1" machine. And if you are a DIY'er they are easier for a novice to work on.

TASCAM 38-8, TSR-8, MSR-16, are the three most commonly available machines. Gold and platinum albums have been recorded using this equipment.

It's old, but most of it is still quite servicable. Best to buy in person, but good deals can be had from e-bay, but ask a lot of questions before commiting. Make sure the seller is being honest with you about the condition of the machine.