Best way to program your drums in acid.

JES Universual

Hello i've been a user of Acid pro projects since version 3.0. I've made tons of music with the program and I think its awesome. However, i've never been good at programming my drums in acid. I used to just grab drum loops, chop it up, change tempo/pitch, etc and that was that. I used to just lay down my sample and hopefully find a drum loop that would fit with its tempo. My diversity on creating good drums has been very limited.

What are the best practices for creating good drums in acid. I have tons of drum loops, samples, one shots. I think I have plenty of drum sound resources to do alot of things. I just have a hard time getting started.

I was always told to start with your drums first then add in your samples, etc.

Is that the best practice? if so, should I start off with already pre-defined drum loops and chop it up or should I start off with one shots?

If I start off with one shots, what is the best to start with? Hi-hats first then add in kicks, snares, etc?

Or should I start off with my samples first then add in my drums?

What are the best measures to use when layering your drums?

Do you think a Midi controller would help me out?

Thanks for all the advice that you may give me.

J.E.S

This question is kind of all over the place but I'll give it a shot.

Acid 6 has a drum mapping utility which I find mysterious and probably less than useless. Give it a try though maybe it's good for something and I'm too dumb to realize.

Good practices for drums are pretty straightforward. Set your snap for 32nd or 16th notes. Drag your drum samples in where you want them. Then turn snap off and adjust timing where you hear things sounding too machine-like.

Instead of chopping up loops just use the volume envelope to *notch-out* hits for variations on the beat.