Assembling clips into a track and making it sound ok

yaddayadda

Extreme noob here when it comes to recording, so I don't even know if I'm using the correct terms, but I will explain what I mean. And if I'm in the wrong sub-forum, just direct me to the right place (this looked like the most reasonable place out of the ones I saw).

What I'd like to do is, for example, take a guitar riff that will repeat throughout the song, get a good "cut" or "take" of that riff recorded, then simply duplicate that "clip" or "cut" by simply copying the clip of the riff over and over and assembling the copies visually onto a track - in fact just putting the duplicates of the clip side by side on the track.

I tried this, and there was some kind of noticeable... again I don't know the term... "incongruence"... between the copied riffs. in other words, it didn't sound like a guy playing the riff over and over throughout the song, it sounded like a clip that had been copied and pieced together side by side, so that when one riff ended and the next one started, there was some 'non-blending' between the two that was noticeable.

I also tried to simply loop it in a player, but that had a similar issue.

Can someone either explain, or simply point me to a resource, on how to do this properly (assemble and blend 'cuts' onto a track)? I tried googling, but I honestly didn't even know what to google for, so I'm sure I used incorrect terms.

Thanks.

There are many ways of doing this, and the best way will depend on what DAW you are using, because each does some things the same and other things slightly differently.

What DAW are you using?

@gecko zzed, I was testing things on some ancient version of cubase which I've since deleted. I will get a new DAW, however could you give me some basic techniques or approaches which are not specific to a DAW? Or, perhaps you could mention DAW-specific techniques and I'll make a note of it.