Analog vs Digital - yadda yadda...

jethani

Hi Gang.

Maybe because my experience behind a recording console is limited, or because I am a member of the Gen-X digital era (or both), I simply cannot tell the much-discussed difference between an analog recording and a digital one.

I have heard musicians like Lenny Kravitz make the case for analog, citing its natural warmth, its natural signal compression, its inner-harmonic distortion. I have also heard musicians cite the clean, hiss-free nature of digital.

For the life of me, I can't tell one from the other, and I have tried. Are there any recordings out there that demonstrate the difference? A respected mentor suggested I invest in decent analog tape playback unit, and it made me wonder about this all over again.

With all the hype about digital units, is there any reason to choose analog?

Hi jethani,

Although I am no expert I think that if you sat down and recorded a song on a piece of analog equipment and then went and recorded the same song on digital equipment you would be able to tell the difference. For one thing you get some noise with analog. Professional recordings that are recorded on analog however, are usually digitally mastered I think, and the noise is gotten rid of.

Although there is a lot of hype about digital I went with analog because of the dough factor and so far I am very happy with my Tascam 424 four-track analog recorder.

Have a good one,

Tucci

Hey Jet Man:

It is very simple. When you hear any sound, through your system or CD or whatever, your ears hear analog. However, what your ears hear can be processed via the digital medium, zeros and ones, thus the very clean sound.