A mixing problem I may be blind to?

Pub Style

You Are The Walrus
This song is typical of my mixes.

I love giving the drums their own space in the mix. Question is.. am I going overboard with this thinking and mixing them a little to loud? Our drummer (deaf to his own instrument) (sorry Kirby) likes this. I like it too! However, since joining this forum I've had the chance to listen to others who have real legit studios. I'm still breathing, so I'm still learning.

Any feedback is appreciated. But certainly not mandatory.

Sometimes I can get in my own way when mixing my own material, thus leaving me kicking myself months later.

https://soundcloud.com/user-288456323/rattlesnake-smile

Last edited:
I thought this was really good. If I had to critique something, it would be the distortion settings on the geetars. A little too much broken-amp fuzz style for me. It almost sounds like a bad choice of pickups to my ears. That's completely personal preference though. I played it through while surfing news sites and nothing really stood out or made me want to turn it off... Sounded very good. Nice work dude

edit: there's a really nice high end to this. nice and airy. you can hear it across the mix. one more critique - you might want to distinguish the bckgrnd vox from the lead a little more. Near the end, when they go back and forth, it's hard to tell which is which momentarily. Personally, I'd make the secondary vox less bright and panned out further.

Drummers are all deaf, it comes with the territory. I think the vocals need to come up just a little bit overall, but mostly in the chorus.

Sounds great to me. Drums have a nice live room sound. Fantastic vocal performance. Handclaps are a nice touch. No nits from me, great job all round

The vocals sound down a hallway compared to the guitars. So the l/r guitars have the illusion they're standing in front of the vocalist. Less reverb on the vocal and raise it, or lower the guitars.