A Memory of Light

OldManRigney

Original piano piece I wrote, played, and recorded. This is my first attempt recording anything, but I had a few music tech courses and winged it based on that. I had to kind of use what I had: the condenser mics from my Shure Drum Kit 7 pack (PGA 181s). I recorded straight into Ableton and used an M-Audio M-Track 8. I needed a fast recording for a grad application and my original plan fell through at the last minute. I've already sent it off, but was wondering for future reference how this went. It was a 9' grand and I used an XY set up right over my head, because I liked the stereo image of the piano there, and only had about 2 hours to do it in. Kind of just made a decision and went with it...threw a couple plugins on the master and sent it out.

https://soundcloud.com/jriggles/a-memory-of-light

Lemme know what you think!

The piano sounds very nice. The stereo image is pretty good IMO. Neat performance. Cool composition.

There is a lot of static noise. Is this a loud room? Outside noise? Air conditioning or heater on? If not, then your signal chain could be improved.

At 2:58 I can hear clicking. Not sure if that is you hitting the pedals.

At the end I can hear you sigh and walk away. Maybe an automated fade out there would be better.