Recording sounds like ****, even with killer tone

sturegren

Hello!

So, first of all, I'm using a Line6 POD HD500x to simulate amplifiers, and I use Ableton Live Lite 7 (Line6 version that was included when I bought a Line6 UX2 interface).

So, what is my problem? My recordings sounds horrible. Unusual? No, not really. But the odd thing is that when I'm jamming through the HD500x with the same preset, it sounds awesome. The tone is just sick, it's EXACTLY what I want. BUT, when recording, it just sounds HORRIBLE.
Maybe I should add that what I'm trying to record is metalcore.

Any ideas what the problem might be? Thanks.

What the problem might be....my gut instinct tells me that "Line 6 POD" and "Metalcore" are probably the biggest problems, but besides that, let's hear it.

There's no way to tell without hearing it. Post up your example please. Any answers you get will be uninformed guesses without hearing it.

Alright, look I'm really new to this stuff, mixing isn't really something I've been looking that much into yet, so I'm obviously expecting it to sound very good.
What my problem is, is that what the DAW is capturing doesn't sound close to what comes out of my speakers when jamming.
The preset that I'm using has two different amplifiers panned left/right, so it creates a great stereo sound when jamming, I'm thinking this might be at least one of the problems, considering that the sound coming from the DAW is centered?

Ah, okay. See? We need these little bits of info to form ideas about what might be wrong.

So, it sounds like you're recording to mono, or your playback is set to mono. Fix that.

Your soundcloud clip is stereo btw.

Aye, the clip I uploaded on soundcloud is 4 guitars which I've panned left/right after recording, all tracks gets recorded center panned.
Here's a pic of my audio settings inside the DAW.
print.png

Try it without recording 4 friggin stereo presets. That's insane.