Wanted - YOUR music for our clients in tv, radio, films, adverts, games etc.

Status
Not open for further replies.
So you get 30% of any money made by the songwriter?

Yes Greg. We mainly work with writers, who are also the artist(s). We don't take any money from mp3 \ cd \ download sales - only from licensing via our catalogues.

When a track is accepted and then used \ licensed through one of our catalogues, it earns a pay-per-play payment or licence fee. That use can also lead to broadcast royalties if made through our royalty-based catalogue. Our commission is 30% of these earnings. If you send a track to almost any other music company or library they'll take 50% of your money.

I'm a musician and used to write for libraries. If a track made £100, the libraries took 50% leaving £50. My publisher at the time took his 40% leaving me with £30.

That's why I set up Makin' Trax - to find the best music from unsigned artists, and give them 70% of the money earnt.

We also work with labels and publishers if you are signed.

Meh, no thanks. I'd rather make no money than let someone else potentially make money off of me for doing nothing.

Well that's how the music business works! Whether you're at the top and have managers, agents, labels, publishers, third-party writers and producers all after a cut, or just gigging in a local venue and bringing in fans who subsequently increase the owner's takings by buying beer...

I'm happy that you don't have to worry about money and wish you luck with your songs \ career.