Diffeence between vsti and sample sounds - PLEASE HELP

olorrieo

I am very new to all of this but can someone please explain to me (as if I were a two year old) the following, cus I just haven't been able to grasp it:

1. what is the difference between a DAW and a software sampler?
2. what is the difference between vsti and a sample sound libraries
3. between vsti's and sample sound libraries which one is better to use.
4. I have cubase, and if I bought a sample sound cd, where would I load them? what would I use to audition and pick all the sounds?

Im a vocalist and song writer and I have all of the songs in my head that I'm ready to record ....Right now my set up is: Roland fanthom keyboard, & cubase sx3 , I don't like the sounds in the roland because i have to manipulate them in order to get the sound I want (and because I have no idea what all the knobs on my fanthom do...i ended up making the sound sound worse) . I basically want more sounds that are genre specific (neo-soul/jazzy r&B, smooth soul) but I'm stuck with not knowing if I need vsti's or sample sounds, and then if it's sample sounds that I should start with, I have now Idea if i need another piece of software to load the sounds (and is that software what they call a software sampler?) or if I just somehow pull them into cubase.?

I know thats alot but I really appreciate any easy to understand answers ,suggestions , examples and illustrations :-)

thanks so much

OK kiddo, it's bedtime now......come on, let's brush those little teeth of yours.....:D :D
Well..........you did say talk to you as if you were a two year old !