• Evans

Votes: 36 33.0%
  • Aquarian

Votes: 12 11.0%
  • Other (please specify)

Votes: 3 2.8%

• Total voters
Guitarmaster said:
The rule of the thumb for me is either tune you skins so they match each other(ur idea. Tune top as tight as it will go and then match the top. (Much like a snare does work very well). Or just put the skin on as loose as possible but without any wrinkles.

I like to find the resonant pitch of the shell and tune the drum to that. I don't like a drum that goes "thud"! I want it to have a nice round "boom" that carries. Very musical!

Not much toms in this test sample, but medium tuning and no muffling. Nothing in the kick but a rolled up towel and a paint can. All ambassadors.

Guitars are rough tracks, so ignore.

PhilGood said:
I like to find the resonant pitch of the shell and tune the drum to that.

Ive been playing drums for 7 years now and ive always heard people say to find the resonant pitch of the shell, but how do actually go about doing that? Sorry if thats too much of a newb question. btw philgood, i always love when you post samples. Your drums always sound amazing!

i havent tried too many evans heads or any aquarian heads, right now i got coated ambs on my toms and snare. I think my next snare head will be a coated g1, and when i go for toms, il do like coated g2s

NegadivOne said:
Ive been playing drums for 7 years now and ive always heard people say to find the resonant pitch of the shell, but how do actually go about doing that? Sorry if thats too much of a newb question. btw philgood, i always love when you post samples. Your drums always sound amazing!

2 ways! You can take the hardware off and tap the shell. It should ring a bit. Have a guitarist or keyboard to match the pitch. Then you know what note to tune it to. Or you can just keep bringing the pitch up until you find the note where the drum just "sings". You will know it when you hear it.