in what "order" do you guys write songs in?

basher000000

Like do you come up with a little riff or a ditty and build off of that, do you start with an interesting chord progression, do you write the melody first, what? If you write the melody first, HOW exactly do you do this? I guess you could say I'm a newb at the whole songwriting thing. I've been in a band for about a year now and we've gotten increasingly better but it seems like our main songwriter just kinda incoherently copies whatever the last thing he heard was. If he just heard a new album that he liked, he'll just write a song that sounds like the album. It's kind of annoying that he can't think outside the box, so I'm trying to take over the main songwriting duties of the band. So anyways, how do you guys write songs?

I most often put up a rythm on my Alesis SR-16 Drum machine and then sit down with a piano sound on the keyboard. The tempo is often at this stage around 73 bpm. Then I just start to play some chords. After I have a progression (much too often 4 chords) I start to sing to it, singing the first words that drops in. Just nonsense. After some repititions I start varying the melody line to try to find a better one. I allways start with the verse. Then, at that point or maybe later, I will get a feeling for if it should hold its tempo or be more uptempo. If the latter I crank it up to 90-100 bpm, and sing it for some rounds again.
If Im satisfied with whats happening I try to make a pre-chorus. The prechorus normally just drops in within a minute or two.
Then I try to find an interesting approach to a chorus.
I often end up with using the verse in one song as a chorus in another one, after changing it to suit the chorus formula a tad more.
As I see it, its better not to listen to something else in the last 30 minutes before you start writing.