anyone else feel this way

guitardude

ok...

Lets see where to begin. Im so frustrated at myself i hate it. I play good and write good, but never finish a song. Or at least to my perfection I guess. I have been playing guitar and writing songs for about 11 years now. I think I have like 4-5 songs I can play. That is pitiful. There are days I just rant over the same song and wont move on till its perfected or better sounding. At the same time I think to myself if I never let it go i will never move on, but at the same time I want to be happy with stuff I play for people or write.

I'll be at work and i'll hear all these ideas in my head, transitions, and lyrics that I want to try out, and can't wait to get home to play around. So when the time comes and im at home nothing works out right. The guitar will not sound good. Just one of the those wacky guitar days. Like last night i was so pissed off and wanted to smash the guitar. I find myself picking up the guitar like at 3am and thats when things start to sound better. However that is the time I should be sleeping. I don know i think there is something about the late night with lights off and the tv on and picking up the guitar.

So what does everyone else do when they cant move on with a song? Does anyone else feel this way ? (sorry bout the ranting)

I get compliments on my songs and have been told I need to make a record, and play more. I should be pushing this perfection away but its really hard. Maybe things will sound better when I actually record it and hear on the stereo or what not.

so please talk to me....comment, tell me im crazy, or shed a little advice. I would like to hear all your thoughts.

Well practice always makes us better...... but you can't prod the creative mojo too hard or you get nothing. Its the law of diminishing returns.