DIY Studio Rack Project

gregoryg

Hey guys, I do most of my work "in the box" these days, and so I don't have a ton of outboard gear, but I decided to build a rack/cabinet for the few things I have just sitting around to get organized (but mainly just because I like having projects to do and building stuff).

My initial design is a cart-type-situation with five rack slots (1. Power conditioner, 2. PreSonus 1818VSL interface, 3. Reverb unit, 4. Compressor unit, 5. Miscellaneous/other) and the top will be an open sloping tray-type thing where I'll pop in my Alesis Studio 24 used for band practice. Definitely keep the back open for wires/access right? And definitely putting wheels on this sucker. Handles?

Here's an initial sketch I came up with:

image.jpg

What am I missing? What am I failing to consider? I have zero experience in carts/racks so any good advice or ideas you all have are welcome! For example, do I stain it, do I paint it, do I shroud it in shag carpeting? Should I install a computer fan in one or both of the sides for cooling?

PS - I realize I can buy something like this for probably what I'll spend on materials but like I said I like building stuff.

Thanks for any input!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 996
I just picked up the raw materials. I decided to go ahead and double the cabinet height from the original sketch. I figure I could store cables in the bottom or at least have room for future expansion.

Current project cost: $43

I'm most intimidated by my plan to do an angled top where the mixer will sit. I'm also considering a detatchable lid with latches.

Requisite "before" photo:

image.jpg

My old homemade rack unit was similar.
I made the top level and
For the mixer I put batons on a slope and the mixer on 19" ears.
And a drop on top.
So I could put a laptop or any no rack mount gear on top, like turntable etc