Rules regarding changing tempo mid-song?

themattsmith

I'm an experienced guitarist but I've recently started to record music and have no education or training in songwriting/music theory. Are there any rules regarding the tempo of a song?
Can you change the tempo at all? Only once? Back and forth many times?

no rules

I am not aware of any rules regarding tempo changes. I think you are free to play at whatever tempo you feel like, and to vary it as much as you wish.

However, a tempo change should complement the song; adding to the drama and flowing naturally with the lyrical content and mood of the song.

Sometimes people introduce tempo changes not for these reasons, but because they are not so hot at maintaining rhythm. When you buy a piece of sheet music, it often shows the tempo at the top (e.g. quarter note = 120 bpm), and indicates places for speeding up or slowing down). The composer, when specifying 120 bpm (or whatever) doesn't want the speed to go up and down like an album on a dodgy turntable.

When recording, it is useful to be able to maintain a steady tempo (either to your own internal 'clock' or playing along with a click track). This makes editing and accompanying the track so much easier. Some will argue that playing to a click track robs the performance of spontaneity, with some justification. Often, though, those arguments are used as rationalisations for not being able to play in time.

No rules – but tempo changes in songs are a bit like flash backs in movies should be used with extreme caution (rhythm change is safer) – try to find another way to get across what it is you are trying to do with the tempo change – use tempo change only when there is no other way to get it across.

IMHO

tempo changes