Recording Set Up Help

mobodcubism

Hey guys.. I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed by the potential mics and different techniques I can use for home recording. I'm fairly new to the subject of recording so bear with me..

Simply, what I want to do is record different instruments such as pianos, guitars and percussion, as well as other random things I can find around the house, and use them in my own music. I've also been thinking of doing some outdoor recordings to use in my music, however, I feel as though that might be slightly far fetched for just one mic.

There are so many different techniques and types of mics to get that I have no idea what to look at anymore :confused:

I've been looking at different mics and have come up with the Oktava MS12's as an option...however even there they have 3 different versions of them, which are priced differently leaving me with no idea of which one to get. What I will be doing will not be overly complicated but I want it to sound as good as possible.

Then, once I have purchased a mic, can I just place it into my audio interface and then into my computer? What if I wish to record outside?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks for taking the time to read and help me :D

What kind of budget? Do you have a laptop to use outside? Or, how about a Tascam DR07 (or similar)?
You are absolutely correct. There are a thousand microphones out there and a lot of different styles of recording.
Just to record a piano, you can use as few as one, and 9 or more is not unheard of.
If you can get the budget, a pair of SDCs + a good LDC and maybe a couple of SM57s for dynamic would give you a decent set. (I'm working on that myself, still need the SDCs for my first locker to be complete).

Got to say, in this world of VST/VSTi I'm glad to see someone who's still interested in recording source. I'd love to, but time and space don't always allow for what we'd like :D