Recording Difficulty

This is my setup

Condenser (or sm57) > Tube Pre > Compressor > Computer (cool edit)

First off, I am quite new to any home recording, but I still understand the basic uses for each of the knobs on compressor. Their application in conjunction with mic'ing distances and such REALLY confuse me still. I am having a hard time getting a NATURAL sounding acoustic guitar recorded on my computer. I am getting a very boomy sound no matter where I place either of my micrphones. It seems the only alternative is to place them over a foot away from the guitar, which leaves the whole "spacial effect" which I am not looking for.

There is no specific question as to how to solve my problem, but I am looking for any mic'ing suggestions or any tricks that will help me discover what this equipment can do. I do not know what to begin to change to start solving problems. I have the initiative to learn more but the complexity grows at an enormous rate when i begin to add more things to the line such as a compressor. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks

Micing near the bridge can help reduce low end. Roll off the low end with eq, if that doesn't fix it.

Try your condenser mic at the 12th fret of your acoustic about 6 inches away. I almost never compress going in unless I have to or it is to limit something. I would take the compressor out of the chain and get the sound how you want it before you start fooling with the comp. Compressors can do alot of weird things if you aren't sure what you are doing. Also try the low cut that grinder suggested maybe below 75hz? This should get you at least a listenable non boomy sound.

acoustic guitar