Need Help Understanding

lowlow42

Hello again. I've posted before, and I've asked many questions pertaining to mixing and whatnot, but I have a few questions about the procedures I'm taking to actually do this. So maybe you guys can help me out. And I've looked all over the internet, and in books (and experimenting myself), but I just need to understand it a little better. **And also I am still a newbie when it comes to this, so I dont understand alot of the Audio terminology.

(Adobe Audition, M-Audio Audiophile 24/96, UB802 mixer, MXL v57 mic)

Well, let me start off by saying what I've been told to do to my vocals on each track. I've been told to compress them, and add equalization to them. Well, my question is how much, and when?

In Adobe, they have many different presets (or custom) for Equalization, which should I use? And when should I use them, for each vocal track, or final mixdown, or what?

And also, am I supposed to compress the whole mixdown when I'm done or just every vocal track, if so, which preset would work the best, or what custom settings could you help me setup?

When I record in Audition, I usually have the instrumental around -4dB, vocals ranging from 1dB-5dB, doubles around -9dB, and the master volume around -6dB. Does this sound right?

I will also post a song I finished, so you can take a listen, and maybe that will help.

Thanks in advance. Any help will be GREATLY APPRECIATED!!

This is a song that I finished, please take a listen and critique it.

only compress if you need to not just because.