High gain needed on my Zoom R24. Why?

The Saint

Hi

I'm new to home recording and have recently bought a Zoom R24 an sE condenser mic. I have to put the gain almost up to max to get a decent level of vocals or acoustic guitar. It happens on all channels and before you ask, yes +48v is on!

Am I missing something here, or is that the norm? I've experimented with mic/guitar and vocal/mic placement without any improvement. Neither are more than 12".

I also have an ART valve preamp which I intended to use for live work, but would it add anything to the gear I'm using at the moment?

Thanks

Graham

I'm also very VERY interested in purchasing an R24!!! I'm also waiting for other users for their reply.

I also use the Se2000 mic but with the older R16. I found so far that anything above 50% gain overdrives the channel. I tend to find the clip point and then take it back about 10% to give a little headroom. Having said that, I've recorded at really low levels and managed to pull some great vocals from the recording.

I have recorded an upright piano and vocals with the pop shield and have not come across running the gain too high at all, even when I overhead mic'd a choir.

I've also used a midiman preamp instead of the onboard phantom power and although I get a lot more gain, there is little difference in background noise.

Hope my experience helps a little.

PP - I love this little machine.