first mics

reymarcelo

hi! this is my first time postingon a forum x)
im looking to start recording drums and some small projects, i already have in mind the alessis interface mm8 usb, and i had in mind buying an pack of audix drum mics,since i can record other instruments with some mics in the package.but thing is that i dont have that many resourses, and plan to buy a set of 2 over heads and one for the snare an anither for the bass drum,i want them to work with other basic instruments too. I dont know wich ones to buy and get the best for my money :). any thoughts?

Since you considered Audix mics already then I have to add that i5 is a pretty good mic. It's almost like the classic Shure sm57, but I personally like the i5 lot more. Good on snare, guitar amp...

My first mic was sm57, but to tell the truth it doesn't sound very exiting.

A lot of people will tell say the D6 for the kick, but if you want a versatile bass instrument mic I'd steer clear as it's unnatural response peaks are nice for click/boom on kicks it can sound funny on an acoustic bass instrument and some bass amps. I'd go B52 or D112 in that price range.

Another wonderful option for kick that can also be used on a ton of other things is the EV RE320! Amazing value for the $300 you pay for it new. It's insane.

The point is with that price point and your interface either sm57 or i5 will give similar results both good. You would need better pres, converters, monitors, room treatment to notice the real nuances between microphones, just get a good sound and you will develop a mic preference later.

what do you guys think about the MXL drum mics? and the alessis mm8 usb interface am i getting a good bang for my buck?

Can't speak about all the MXL stuff, but I like the 603's as OH's/HH very much. Even better when Michael Joly modifies them but beyond your apparent budget to do that. In their stock form, I've no complaints (for what they are)