Building a Studio/Jam Room

2Kickdrums

Not sure where to stick this, but here goes:

I'll be moving into a new home in a couple of months and would like to get a
head start on materials/ideas to build a decent studio room.

I'm looking for budget materials that yield respectable acoustics for recording,
as well as making the room somewhat sound proof.

This will be built from scratch in a concrete basement. No studs, or framing
is currently in the way, so feel free to suggest anything and everything that
has helped you. Keep in mind I'm a drummer, so neighbours will hate me if
I can't supress the 'noise'.

Some thoughts off the top:

- acoustic insulation for ceiling and inside wall(s)
- carpet for floor
- non reflective wall material? Cover with acoustic foam? Padding/Fabric over insulation? Leave without drywall?
- acoustic tiling for ceiling, or leave with insulation only?

- Live end / dead end setup, or not beneficial?