What am I missing? Please help

thewatch

Hi all,

I love singing and recently have bought Blue Yeti microphone for recording instead of my phone.
I have a pop filter too, and about a foot away from the mic when recording.
I use Audacity to record (Im new to the software so just leave settings as default just hit the record button and playback to check the result) and the result turnout not as good as I expected.

1st: is the microphone good enuf for vocal recording cause its result sound worse than what my phone can record.
2nd: when I hit high notes, the sound start breaking and very hard to listen to, I have to lower the gain level in the mic to about 35% to avoid this, is this normal? because it causing the recorded track volume lower than usual.

What am I missing and what can I do to improve it.
My PC doesnt have a sound card, can a sound card improve the recording?

I really appreciate If someone could help.

It's not the microphone, don't worry.

If the sound breaks up when hitting high notes (which typically take a lot of volume to achieve), you're probably clipping the input. Back the input gain off until you can hit the loudest notes without any digital clipping (going into the red).

This recording will sound quieter than your phone, initially, because your phone's awful mic and worse app is probably doing goodness knows what kind of compression and limiting, thus raising the overall volume.

Most professionally recorded mixes end up with average levels around between -8 and -14db (very quiet). This all gets raised to commercial levels during pre-master and mastering.

Right now, focus on getting clean vocal recordings. Crank up the volume fader on your computer, speakers, headphones, whatever to hear the recording and don't worry about how loud it is compared to things on your phone.

hi my PC doesnt have a sound card, Im not sure what equipment should I get to improve the recording quality.

Thanks for the reply Brian,