some questions about all (mix and mastering and headphones)

Psygnosis

Hi to all...
I'm a newbie about homerecording but I like it and I want to learn more and more, of course I can't work in this field but I just like to have fan with my friend who are "professional" singers and I'd like to help them with mixing and mastering...
So I have some question...
I generally mixdown just vocal and base (not all instruments in different track, sometimes I mix in a single track percussions, because I play that).

1. It's better to mixdown with headphones or speakers? I always mix with headphone but I have so many problem with speaker.
  2. When it's better to use headphones?
  3. What do you think of Philips SHL3000W or of Sennheiser HD 433 (pretty old)?
  4. Do you apply EQ on mixdown either on vocal track and in on the base track? or do you apply EQ on mastering?
  5. When I master a track I have to work on the mixdown merged track?!

thanks a lot in advance

That would depend on what headphones or speakers you are talking about. Generally, speakers would be better, as long as they are not crap, and you know them well. Anyone with some bit of experience, will tell you that a great (expensive) set of monitors, in a room that is acoustically treated, is the only way to go. You will not find any real professional producers, that mix with headphones alone. Well, you shouldn't.

Eq is used wherever eq is needed. Quality monitors, in a room that is balanced, will help you to know where it is needed. Headphones will generally lie to you. Especially cheap ones like you mentioned.

It is not to say that you can't get decent results with cheap monitoring equipment, but it is way more likely that you wont.

thanks for the advice...

so it's better if I mix with normal speaker than with the headphones....

and what about my question about mastering?