Remixing Help

SethDiggs

Hi all,,,

Im beginning to remix a track and the only problem is that I have never done this before : )
I have SoundForge5 and a few other quality programs. Can anyone offer any advice on the process of remixing a track from start to finish, or offer any links to good articles.
It's a basic pop track with vocals and decent house beat so I think just putting a nice 4x4 underneath and a good arrangement would do the trick. But the most important thing to me with all music is quality so I dont wanna hack this upp at all.........so please any adive would surely be a blessing....

Merci~
SethDiggs
DJSETEKh

Hi SethDiggs!

a few questions first:

1.) how many tracks of the original arrangement do you have?
2.) what equipment do you have (sw/hw)?
3.) do you have some sample cd's or a turntable to record your own drum and bass samples?
4.) you know which style you are going to produce?

My personal experience: only laying 4 to the floor under the basic beat isn't enough. I tend to waste up to 80% of the original track and only leave parts of the voice or ticks of a cool bass track, rearrange it to give it a completly different meaning or sound and fraggle the drum to fit the feeling...

greets,
Mark

im a DJ so i have access to turntables but thats about it on the hardware.........I was planning on sampling my bass track from a peice of vinyl and then just add some symbols and creativity......
it seems simple, but i havnt yet started........... = )

I have :
SOUNDFORGE5.0
LOGICAUDIO PLATINUM
RECYCLE
Re-Birth
and maybe ACID soon...........

i really dont know much about remixing a track, like the copyright laws and such, it's a popular song at the moment that you've surely heard on radio play, and I only have the single on cd.
I extracted the audio and began to chopp it upp.....