Recording Screaming Vocals

adam.zamane

Hey guys,
So I'm new to recording vocals, I just started today actually when all my equipment came and I am completely lost. I am using an MXL V89 microphone (condenser), a Lexicon Alpha interface, and the software I am using is called Audacity. The recording has worked perfectly for singing, however screaming vocals have been a problem. Unlike singing vocals where "lines" that look like a heart rate, bear with me I don't know the correct term for that, in screaming vocals it is just a block that does not move up and down. It also sounds very distorted. I have tried messing with the compressor and amplify effects but neither seem to work for me. I also even changed the input level to the lowest it could go, but it still sounds bad. I was hoping someone who is familiar with Audacity would be able to tell me what is wrong with this, I'd really appreciate it!

Thanks!
Adam