Need basic help with a Focusrite 6 USB in GarageBand; strange issues

Dan.

This is a noob issue possibly, and this may get more responses with me posting this here rather than in the Midi thread, but here:

The only consistent thing I have working through the Focusrite to GarageBand is my Yamaha keyboard using a Midi chord or whatever. That always works.

Now here's a weird issue. For both my microphone and guitar I'm using through the Midi, I got them both to work perfectly once in GarageBand (on different days for each), and then after that one time neither have worked again since. The thing that was preventing the mic from working in the first place was that I didn't have the 48V switch on (noob mistakes like these are common for me because my brother bought all of this equipment and I'm just learning it now because I want to record music).

I don't understand this though. How can I have them both working (on a different day for each), and then not having changed anything, the next day neither the mic nor guitar would work? I didn't change anything. Can anyone help?

Wait, the interface was hooked up via MIDI? And you were able to record from that? Whaaaa?! :confused:

Have you downloaded the drivers for the Focusrite? You want to record the mic and guitar to get a sound wave (analog), not MIDI (digital protocol).

I don't know what MIDI is. When I wrote that I was thinking it was the box (Focusrite Saffire 6 USB), or maybe it's the chord connecting the keyboard to the Focusrite. I don't know. So can someone just tell me what MIDI is please.