Mixer for Podcast – Recommendations?

fin13

Hi.

I am looking for a Mixer for a talk-show Podcast that my friend and I are doing.

The reason we need a Mixer is because we want to play Music and Sound Effects and be able to talk over them, or be able to fire them off on-the-fly.

Does anyone have experience in this end, or have any suggestions?

Any help would be great!

Thanks.
Jenny ;)

I'll admit i have no experience in this. but any mixer will do for playing music/sound affects and talk over them, but you probably need a midi keyboard or something to trigger sound FX, but I have no experience in midi so I can't help you there.

This would probably fill you mixer needs nicely --- LINK --- and you can patch a CD player thru the tape in RCA jacks, but to run sound effects and sound bites you will need something like this --- LINK.

Hi guys - thanks for the feedback!

ssscientist wrote:
This would probably fill you mixer needs nicely --- LINK --- and you can patch a CD player thru the tape in RCA jacks, but to run sound effects and sound bites you will need something like this --- LINK.
A few things:

1. Why do I need a mixer?

2. Is there a way I could click on sound effects/music on my computer (e.g. windows media player) and have them captured on the podcast recording?

Background
My friend and I are recording the Podcast through Skype, I'm in Toronto, she's on LA.

Any help would be great guys!

Thanks.
Jenny ;)

1. You don't totally need a mixer..but it's better to do so if you want to add an audio device to your podcast like a CD player or something...it just makes life easier since you could mix your mic's signal with any other source connected to the mixer.

2. I'm not sure if I understand it properly but are you trying to get your computer's audio output and record it?

p.s I'm in Toronto as well :)

In your first post you say:

fin13 said:
I am looking for a Mixer for a talk-show Podcast that my friend and I are doing
I post a link to a simple mixer.