Low levels on new Microphone

ElderMelder

So I just got a new microphone (t.bone EM9900) which I thought sounded really nice when I saw it in a YouTube Review and so I just hooked it up to my old setup which consists of a very cheap Phantom Power Supply (Justin Phantom 1) connecting directly to my laptops microphone Input.

Now I have the problem, that the Microphone delivers a very very quiet sound, around -36dB with the Phantom Power attached and I have to apply a really high gain (around +25dB) to even be audible which in return amplifies the before very quiet sound-floor so much that I cant use it to record.

I would like to know what is wrong with my setup if there is an easy answer. I suspect it to be the cheap Phantom Power Supply not providing the right amount of amplification to the mic and additionally adding a lot of noise to the sound floor but I am kinda new to this so Id like to know if I did anything wrong and weither I should just go ahead and buy a different preamp (it has to be kinda affordable, I dont want to spent another 100 Euros on the AMP) like for example this one: ART Tube MP

Thanks for the help!

Phantom power doesn't amplify the signal, it just provides DC power so the mic operates. That said, lower phantom power could mean somewhat lower output, but that's not likely to be your problem.

The core of your problem is running a pro mic into the laptop mic input. The wiring schemes are different and incompatible. It's possible to interface them, but the wiring has to be done correctly. I don't suppose you have a DMM.

The real solution is, of course, to get a proper audio interface.