How to plug guitar/mic to Audiophile 2496?

mr.rudy

Hi,

I am a total beginner. I just got an M-Audio Audiophile 2496 soundcard and I don't know how to connect an electric guitar/mic to it so that I can record some tunes. Do I need some hardware like a pre-amp or is just some magic program enough? The only thing I have figured out so far is that I need a jack to rca adapter ;)

any help will be much appreciated

If you want to use mics to record you will need some preamps, the 2496 doesn"t have any.....for guitar if your amp has an effects send or a line out you can connect that to your 2496 but you will need an adapter....

Good luck

Get a mixer and route the outs into the 2496 and just plug your guitar, and anything else you want, on seperate channels on the mixer. You don't necessarily need a pre amp, but you'll get a more clearer sound if you use one!

thanks guys,

It seems I have only cursory knowledge about mixers and preamps. In a nutshell, what is the difference between them?

thanks guys,

It seems I have only cursory knowledge about mixers and preamps. In a nutshell, what is the difference between them?

The mixer is the large thing that has the knobbies and faders on it. :p

Mixers usually have preamps on them. Preamps are the things you plug the mic cable into. It drives the signal to make up for a lack of signal level the mic has on its own and drives it up so you can record at a proper level. The preamps in the pic are the black holes with the three little holes in the middle of them.

Preamp units usually only have a few knobs on them, if any at all.

I think I explained that close to accurately without getting into detail. Someone correct me if I am wrong.

So there is no way of plugging a mic to 2496 other than through a preamp, right?