Digital Multitrack Recorders

HepMeSumbody

Hey, I need guidance! I play guitar and want to make some recordings - since I have no experience and don't want to clutter my computer with too much extra software, I'm looking at self-contained digital multi-track recorders. I'd really like bass modeling, since I don't have a bass. And I'd like drum tracks, too, although I would probably eventually get a drum machine. Guitar modeling isn't crucial, since I have a POD xt. My computer is Windows 98 and has USB ports and a CD burner. I'd like to have at least 8 tracks, and the most important thing is USER-FRIENDLINESS! So far, I've been glancing at offerings from Boss, Zoom, Korg and Fostex. My budget probably maxes out around $800 for now. Any suggestions? THANKS! :)

I suggest you buy another computer and use that. It will last you longer, be more flexible for upgrading and effects and be a better all round solution.

The Zoom MRS1266 will probably fit the bill for you. It is has a drum/bass machine, lots of insert and send/return effects, 8 mono tracks, a stereo track, and a master track. Each track has 10 virtual tracks.

The 1266 without the CD burner and with the USB option should be right around your budget. You can put your own CD burner in it later at far less cost than having Zoom include it.

Thanks, DK...I'll take a look at the Zoom. jono,I'm not sure I can get an adequate computer and all the necessary software within my budget. If you have any suggestions along those lines, I'd love to hear them. Thanks again for your time!

Yeah go for the stand alone recorder. There is a major convenience factor to not using a PC. At your budget, you should be able to find offerings from Korg, Fostex, Roland, Zoom and Akai. Do your homework and research these units and you can always bring your questions back here.