Brand new to Audio.

Sig

I am COMPLETELY NEW to making music.

Never played and instrument, Never used any softwware programs. I never sang anything before. Absolutely nothing.

I was watching this video on podcasting, which was what I originally was looking into to, and this guy recommended all this stuff for it.

I didnt think I needed all of that though. :)

Anyhow, I ended up dropping like 600 of some audio equipment, and I am kinda getting hooked on this whole audio thing. :)

This is what I bought.

Audio Technica AT 2035 Mic

Alesis Multimix 8 USB

Sennheiser HD380 Pro Headphones

Boom and Pop filter

I have plans for a buying a keyboard and monitors here pretty soon too.

I also have fruity Loops 8

I want to start making some music with it now, but I am having a problem.

The only way for me to record from my mic is to use Asoi4ALL, which I have.

I can do that no problem, but I cant hear anything as I am recording or in playback.

I have to switch the audio settings to Primary Sound Driver or my sound card to be able to hear anything.

The problem with those is that I dont get the option for input in fruity loops, which is what I am using.

Is there a way to record and playback without having to switch them all the time.

Also, when I do record with my mic, I have and annoying echo to it, and it picks up everything in my room.

How do I get rid of that?

There is a low cut switch on my mic, which do I set it to?

Straight line or the one that slants down?

Also, what do I set the pad switch to? 0db or -10db?

I have looked up online, but cant find any direct answers.

I have also messed with all kinds of settings with my mic, software, and the mixer.

I just dont know what to do now! lol

Any help to get me started and going in the right direction is appreciated.

Here is a pic of my setup so far.
526163428_ids3y-X2.jpg

Yikes. Music and recording at the same time? Sounds like you're in for quite the learning curve.